SECO Energy is a not-for-profit electric cooperative serving over 200,000 families and businesses across seven counties in Central Florida, making SECO the third largest electric co-op in Florida and the seventh largest in the nation. One of the most important distinctions between other types of utilities and SECO is that we are member owned.

Our members have a voice in the co-op’s decision-making process. They elect a nine-member Board of Trustees, who meet monthly to monitor the financial status of the Cooperative and make policy decisions in the best interest of the membership.


In both 2017 and 2016, SECO Energy was ranked “Highest in Customer Satisfaction among Cooperatives” in the J.D. Power Electric Utility Residential Customer Satisfaction Study. In 2015, SECO Energy was ranked “Highest in Customer Satisfaction among Midsize Utilities in the South” by J.D. Power. SECO refers to the three consecutive awards as its “Triple Crown,” and we are grateful to our members for ranking us #1!


SECO’s wholesale power provider is Seminole Electric Cooperative, Inc., one of the largest generation and transmission cooperatives in the nation, serving 1.6 million consumers in Florida. Seminole is owned by nine electric distribution cooperatives, and SECO Energy is one of those nine member-owners.

SECO Energy J.D. Power Award 2015, 2016 and 2017 - SECO Energy Triple Crown


Visit for more information



To provide exceptional service to our members, co-workers and communities.


Member Commitment | Honesty & Integrity | Safety | Strong Work Ethic | Teamwork | Open Communication

History Of SECO

SECO’s roots began with the Roosevelt Administration’s 1935 Rural Electric Administration (REA), which was created to bring electricity to rural areas, such as Central Florida, and provide employment in the hard economic times of the 1930s.  In 1938, when the company was established as Sumter Electric Cooperative, Inc. we were able to turn the lights on to approximately 400 rural farms near Webster.  Since that time, SECO has grown from a tiny, struggling rural cooperative into one of the largest co-ops in the state of Florida and in the nation.  SECO takes pride in the fact that in those early years we brought electricity to areas no one else would serve.  We are committed to carrying our proud tradition into the future with a continuing emphasis on reliable power, excellent service, and low rates for all members who rely on SECO for their power.

Service Territory

SECO Energy serves more than 200,000 residential and commercial members across the Florida counties of Sumter, Citrus, Marion, Lake, Levy, Pasco, and Hernando.

SECO Energy Territory Map

Board Of Trustees

SECO’s Board of Trustees are members who live and work in SECO’s service territory, they are elected to oversee the governance of the cooperative.  The Board is elected, by the members, from the general membership of the cooperative.  Collectively, they are responsible for establishing, reviewing, and revising corporate policies to ensure that SECO continues to keep service to the membership foremost in mind, while maintaining a stable, yet competitive position in the industry.

Jerry D. Hatfield,

District 9 Trustee
Member since: 1974
Years of Board Service: 18
Resides in: Umatilla

Contact Mr. Hatfield

Richard Dennison,
Vice President

District 4 Trustee
Member since: 1999
Years of Board Service: 3
Resides in: Ocala

Contact Mr. Dennison

William James,

District 8 Trustee
Member since: 2002
Years of Board Service: 8
Resides in: Leesburg

Contact Mr. James

Scott Boyatt

District 1 Trustee
Member since: 2004
Years of Board Service: 5
Resides in: Clermont

Contact Mr. Boyatt


Dillard Boyatt

District 2 Trustee
Member since: 1978
Years of Board Service: 28
Resides in: Bushnell

Contact Mr. Boyatt

Gerald Anderson

District 3 Trustee
Member since: 2013
Resides in: The Villages

Contact Mr. Anderson

Ray Vick

District 5 Trustee
Member since: 1974
Years of Board Service: 38
Resides in: Inverness

Contact Mr. Vick

Earl Muffett

District 6 Trustee
Member since: 1979
Years of Board Service: 28
Resides in: Summerfield

Contact Mr. Muffett

District 7 Trustee Joseph E. Kusiak

Joseph E. Kusiak

District 7 Trustee
Member since: 2002
Elected in 2018
Resides in: Dunnellon

Contact Mr. Kusiak

Management Team

Here at SECO, our management team views each day as an opportunity to excel on behalf of the Cooperative’s members, employees and the communities we serve.  SECO’s professional management group has two important tasks.  First, the team ensures that the co-op remains responsive to the members and works to continuously improve the efficiency of its operations.  The second is engaging in the strategic planning necessary to ensure that the co-op’s future remains bright.

James P. “Jim” Duncan

Chief Executive Officer


Ben Brickhouse

VP of Engineering


Kathryn Gloria

VP of Corporate Communications & Energy Services


Gene Kanikovsky

Chief Financial Officer


John LaSelva

VP of Operations


Gregg Morrell

VP of Corporate Services & Human Resources


Nora Brown

Senior Executive Assistant