SECO Energy Board of Trustees Selects New CEO

SECO Energy Board of Trustees Selects New CEO

SECO Energy’s Board of Trustees recently voted to hire a new CEO to step into the shoes of retiring CEO Jim Duncan, who led the cooperative as CEO for most of his long and distinguished 43-year tenure. SECO Energy currently provides electric service to 220,000 homes and businesses across seven counties in fast-growing Central Florida. SECO Energy is a J.D. Power award-winning electric utility and is a frontrunner statewide and nationally with the American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI).


The candidate selected by the Board of Trustees from both internal executives and external applicants is Mr. Curtis Wynn who has been the President and CEO of Roanoke Electric Cooperative in North Carolina since 1997, a not-for-profit electric utility that serves 14,000 members. Prior to that, Mr. Wynn was the Vice President of Member Services, Information Technology, Marketing and Economic Development from 1981 to 1997 at West Florida Electric Cooperative. Mr. Wynn steps in at SECO Energy in time to transition into Jim Duncan’s departure date of January 3, 2022.


Mr. Wynn is married with three children and is a graduate of Troy University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration & Management Information Systems. With nearly 42 years of experience in the electric cooperative industry, Mr. Wynn’s resume reflects a long list of awards and accomplishments showing a history of supporting creative solutions that are turning the challenges of the energy industry evolution into major opportunities.


Mr. Wynn also serves or has served on a variety of boards including: immediate past board president, National Rural Electric Cooperatives Association (NRECA); past president, vice president and secretary-treasurer of North Carolina Electric Membership Cooperative; board member, North Carolina’s Association of Electric Cooperatives; board member, Meridian Cooperative (formerly Southeastern Data Cooperative – SEDC); and past nominating committee member, CoBank.


SECO Energy is a not-for-profit electric cooperative, operated for and owned by its members. SECO’s nine-member Board of Trustees consists of members who live in SECO’s service area. They are elected to oversee the governance of the cooperative. Each Trustee on the Board is elected by the members who reside in his/her District. Collectively, the Trustees are responsible for establishing, reviewing and revising corporate policies to ensure that SECO continues to preserve reliable, affordable service for all members.


SECO Energy Board of Trustees President Richard Dennison stated, “Welcome, Mr. Wynn. Our expectation is that you continue the extremely successful legacy that CEO Jim Duncan nurtured throughout his career with SECO Energy and to see our cooperative into the future supporting our strategic goal of providing affordable, reliable electric service.”


To view brief bios of SECO Energy’s Board of Trustees and a District boundaries map, visit>Your Co-op>Board of Trustees. “Like” SECO’s Facebook page and “follow” @SECOEnergy on Twitter for news releases and cooperative updates.


Leave a Reply