SECO Energy District 1 Members Re-elect Trustee Scott Boyatt

SECO Energy District 1 Members Re-elect Trustee Scott Boyatt

SECO Energy members who reside in District 1 re-elected Trustee Scott Boyatt to serve on SECO Energy’s Board of Trustees. The meeting was held in the District on Tuesday, January 25, at Pine Ridge Elementary School in Clermont for the purpose of electing a Trustee to represent District 1 on SECO’s Board of Trustees.


SECO Energy is a not-for-profit electric cooperative, operated for and owned by its members. SECO’s service area is geographically divided into nine Districts. One Trustee is elected from each of the nine Districts to represent their fellow members on SECO’s nine-member Board of Trustees. Collectively, the Board represents the SECO membership, meeting monthly to monitor the financial status of the cooperative while providing fiduciary oversight and participating in policy decisions that serve the best interests of the membership at large.


Trustee Boyatt submitted a letter of intent to seek re-election as a SECO Energy Trustee in January and ran unopposed. SECO’s Bylaws currently require that the cooperative hold District Meetings. Subsequently, Florida Statute requires SECO to hold in-person elections if the cooperative continues to hold District Meetings as a means of electing Trustees. District 1 Meeting was held as a drive-thru-only voting option to protect the health and wellbeing of employees and members from COVID risk.


Since SECO’s new CEO Curtis Wynn wasn’t able to address the attendees in an indoor venue, SECO developed a video of his District 1 address. It is viewable on the District Meetings & Elections website section. It is also published on SECO’s YouTube Channel.


A SECO member since 2004, Trustee Boyatt resides in Clermont and was first elected to the SECO Energy Board of Trustees in 2013. Since 2019, Mr. Boyatt has earned and maintained his Director Gold Credentials which is the highest educational achievement available from the NRECA (National Rural Electric Cooperatives Association).


Trustee Boyatt is looking forward to continuing his Board service for a new three-year term. Mr. Boyatt stated, “I am proud to be a part of the SECO Energy Board of Trustees and enjoy working closely with the cooperative’s senior management team. During my nine-year Board tenure, we have earned three prestigious J.D. Power awards for customer satisfaction through the hard work and dedication of SECO’s senior leadership team and, most importantly, its 400 employees. As Trustee, I strive to keep members at the forefront of our vision and decision making.”


Board president Richard Dennison stated, “Congratulations, Mr. Boyatt, on your re-election as District 1 Trustee. On behalf of my fellow Board officers and peers, we look forward to working with you to continue SECO Energy’s future success.”


CEO Curtis Wynn stated, “Mr. Boyatt, congratulations on your re-election. I am grateful for your continued Board service and dedication to SECO Energy’s members and cooperative purpose. For the District 1 members who participated in the election process in the drive-thru format, thank you for entrusting Mr. Boyatt to serve as your District 1 representative on SECO Energy’s Board of Trustees.”


View a brief bio of SECO Energy’s Board of Trustees and a District boundaries map. “Like” SECO on Facebook and “follow” @SECOEnergy on Twitter for news releases and cooperative updates.


Leave a Reply