SECO Energy District 8 Members Re-elect Trustee William James

SECO Energy District 8 Members Re-elect Trustee William James

SECO Energy members who reside in District 8 re-elected incumbent Trustee William James. The meeting was held in the District on Tuesday, February 9, at The Manor at The Plantation in Leesburg for the purpose of electing a Trustee to represent District 8 on SECO’s Board of Trustees.


SECO Energy is a not-for-profit electric cooperative, operated for and owned by its members. SECO’s service area is geographically divided into nine Districts. One Trustee is elected from each of the nine Districts to represent their fellow members on SECO’s nine-member Board of Trustees. Collectively, the Board represents the SECO membership, meeting monthly to monitor the financial status of the cooperative while providing fiduciary oversight and participating in policy decisions that serve the best interests of the membership at large.


Along with incumbent Trustee Mr. James, Ms. Annette Bailey of Leesburg and Mr. Martin Proctor of Groveland each submitted a letter of intent to run for Trustee in January. SECO’s Bylaws require that the cooperative hold a District Meeting. Subsequently, Florida Statute requires SECO to hold in-person elections as the cooperative continues to hold District Meetings as a means of electing Trustees. A drive-thru voting option was available for members to practice social distancing and to reduce the size of the indoor meeting.


A SECO member since 2002 who resides in Leesburg, Mr. James has served on SECO’s Board of Trustees for 10 years. Trustee James has spent 45 years of his career in the electric cooperative segment of the energy industry. Mr. James is also a SECO representative on the board of the cooperative’s wholesale power provider Seminole Electric Cooperative.


Trustee James is honored to continue his SECO Board service. Mr. James stated, “Thank you, District 8 members, for re-electing me to the SECO Energy Board. It is an honor to serve my fellow District 8 members. I look forward to continuing my Board service with SECO and working with my Board peers.”


Board president Richard Dennison stated, “Congratulations, Mr. James, on your re-election as District 8 Trustee. On behalf of my fellow Board officers and peers, we look forward to continue working with you.”


Jim Duncan CEO stated, “Mr. James, I appreciate your willingness to serve as District 8 Trustee. I applaud your dedication to your District’s members and to the success of SECO Energy. Thank you District 8 members for participating in the cooperative’s democratic process by attending the meeting to elect a Trustee for the SECO Board.”


To view a brief bio of SECO Energy’s Board of Trustees and a District boundaries map, visit our Board of Trustees page. “Like” SECO on Facebook and “follow” @SECOEnergy on Twitter for news releases and cooperative updates.

Leave a Reply