SECO Energy District 4 Members Re-elect Trustee Richard Dennison

SECO Energy District 4 Members Re-elect Trustee Richard Dennison

SECO Energy members residing in District 4 re-elected incumbent Trustee Richard Dennison. A large crowd of District 4 members gathered at the Marion Oaks Community Center on February 20 to elect a Trustee to represent their District on SECO’s Board of Trustees. Mr. Dennison currently holds an officer position on the Board as Vice President.


SECO Energy is a not-for-profit electric cooperative, operated for and owned by its members. SECO members who reside in the District elect one of their fellow members to serve on SECO’s nine-member Board of Trustees. SECO Energy CEO Jim Duncan stated, “Collectively, the Board represents the SECO membership, meeting monthly to monitor the financial status of the cooperative while providing fiduciary oversight and participating in policy decisions that serve the best interests of the members at large.”


Mr. Dennison declared his willingness to serve the members of District 4 by submitting his letter of intent to run for Trustee. Elected Trustees serve a three-year term. A SECO member since 1999, Trustee Dennison lives in Ocala and was first elected to the Board in 2015. Mr. Dennison ran unopposed and even though Mr. Dennison was the only candidate, the Bylaws require that SECO hold a District Meeting. Subsequently, Florida Statute requires SECO to hold in-person elections.


Trustee Dennison stated, “I began my campaign months ago and am grateful for the members in District 4 who came out today and voted to re-elect me as the District 4 Trustee. It is truly an honor that my fellow members have continued to place their faith in me. I want you to know it is a pleasure to work in this role at SECO because we all get along for the good of the cooperative. The Board members, the senior management and the employees of this well-run company make this work fulfilling.”


President Jerry Hatfield stated, “Congratulations, Mr. Dennison on your re-election as District 4 Trustee. On behalf of my fellow Board officers and peers, we look forward to continue working with you.”


CEO Jim Duncan stated, “I would like to thank the members of District 4 for engaging with SECO in the democratic process to elect a Trustee to represent your District. Congratulations Mr. Dennison on re-election as District 4 Trustee. I appreciate your community-minded enthusiasm and your dedication to your fellow members.”


Visit our Board of Trustees page to view a photo and brief bio of SECO’s Trustees along with a District Map. “Like” SECO’s Facebook page and “follow” @SECOEnergy on Twitter for news releases and cooperative updates.

Leave a Reply